4-Law Legal Support
Washington State Claims
Automobile Accidents
Other Personal Injury
Auto Accidents
 
AUTO INSURANCE
 

Insurance

We should all know that it is required by the state of Washington, while driving a motor vehicle, you must have a minimum liability coverage of $25,000 per person, $50,00 per accident and property damage protection of up to $10,000. It is also referred as 25/50/10.

Minimum liability coverage only protects the other party when you cause the accident. There is a fine if you don’t have a valid proof of insurance with you when you are asked by a police officer.

However, even in the event that you have no insurance, you are not automatically blamed, for an accident. Carrying an insurance policy doesn’t correct anyone’s bad habits in driving (click here to see if you have case). What it does is, protect your passengers, the other vehicle and its occupants in an accident caused by you.

The state minimum may not be enough. Its limits vs. the damages you have caused to the other party and to you and your passengers. In addition to liability coverage, many people choose to purchase additional kinds of protection.

If you are the victim, and the other party is uninsured, for a few more dollars, you can add a UM (uninsured motorist)/ UIM (underinsured motorist) coverage to your existing minimum state required liability policy in order to protect yourself and your passengers in an event of an accident caused by an uninsured motorist.

Personal Injury Protection provides coverage for you, and any passengers in your car, regardless of who was at fault. Benefits may include medical and rehabilitation expenses, lost wages, funeral expenses, and loss of essential services. State law requires that your insurance company offer to sell you PIP, but you don't have to buy it. It helps to keep a copy of all your documentations.

If you already have comprehensive health insurance, PIP might be a redundant coverage. Most insurers offer securities like rental car reimbursement coverage and towing coverage. Rental car reimbursement coverage will pay for the cost of renting a car if your car is stolen or damaged in an accident that is your fault. For one to two dollars a month, you can ensure you are not left stranded to rely upon a friend or family member to shuttle you around while your car is being repaired. Towing coverage can cover some or all of the cost should your car be disabled and need the services of a tow truck. For more information, contact your insurance agent.

You can save yourself a lot of headaches by ensuring you have the right insurance coverage and options before having to file a claim.

Cheap coverage from a company that offers lousy services, takes forever to settle its claims, or goes bankrupt is worse than no coverage at all. Beyond price, you should look at the financial strength of a company, its reputation for service, and the specific coverage, discounts and other benefits it may offer. When you are buying insurance, think claim. You and your passengers must be protected and cared for. The company’s’ reputations in handling claims and its financial strength is very important. Remember the old saying that “cheap costs more”. Your best source of information may be your agent. If your agent is not answering your question and yet tries to give you a cheap coverage, you should take your business some place else. Just imagine how you are going to be treated when you have a claim.

top of page

 


©
1999-2001 4LawSupport.com All Rights Reserved